Hudson County Community College Named Finalist for Seven of Eleven American Association of Community Colleges 2024 Awards of Excellence

February 28, 2024

February 28, 2024, Jersey City, NJ – Hudson County Community College (HCCC), its leaders, and faculty are finalists in seven of eleven categories for the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) National Awards of Excellence. The finalist designations recognize HCCC’s dedication and success in advancing equity, student success, and innovative teaching.

“No other college in the nation has finalists in so many of the AACC Awards of Excellence categories,” said HCCC President, Dr. Christopher Reber. “We could not have come this far without the commitment and contributions of our trustees, faculty, staff, and community partners. HCCC has set the standard for closing achievement gaps, collaborating to fulfill our mission, and helping students realize their dreams. Hudson County Community College works as a family to help everyone succeed. As our students often say, ‘Hudson is Home’.” 

Finalists of the American Association of Community (AACC) National Awards of Excellence

Hudson County Community College (HCCC) was named a finalist in seven of eleven categories for American Association of Community College (AACC) National Awards of Excellence. HCCC’s finalists include Advancing Institutional Equity and Belonging, Student Success, and, pictured here: CEO of the Year – HCCC President Dr. Christopher Reber; Rising Star Manager – Matthew LaBrake; Faculty Member of the Year – Dr. Clive Li; Trustee of the Year – William J. Netchert, Esq.; and Faculty Innovation – Jeremiah Teipen.

HCCC Award finalists, by category:

  • Advancing Institutional Equity and Belonging - HCCC
    The award honors a college that has contributed significantly and over a sustained period to advance equity in college leadership, the community, and higher education, creating an environment where all students and employees are heard, seen, and recognized for their contributions.
  • Student Success – HCCC
    The award recognizes a community college that has demonstrated, through evidence, a sustained commitment to proactively advancing student success.
  • Trustee of the Year - William J. Netchert, Esq., HCCC Board of Trustees Chair
    The award celebrates a trustee who has made significant contributions to the college, including but not limited to demonstrating exceptional leadership and initiative, supporting professional development, contributing to strengthening governance, advocating data- and results-driven student success initiatives, and effectively representing the college at state and local levels.
  • CEO of the Year - Dr. Christopher Reber, President of HCCC
    The award recognizes a leader with a strong track record in effectively participating in shared governance; supporting professional development; implementing results-driven student success initiatives; advocating for the institution and its students; participating in statewide initiatives and national dialogues; serving on local, state, and/or national boards; and demonstrating courage under challenging circumstances.
  • Faculty Member of the Year - Dr. Clive Li, Assistant Professor of Engineering Science
    The award acknowledges an individual who continuously seeks to integrate evidence-based strategies into the classroom, and is highly engaged in college committees and with organizations dedicated to student success. The Faculty Member of the Year has stellar student evaluations for his courses, and participates in external student and community activities.
  • Rising Star: Manager - Matthew LaBrake, Executive Director of the HCCC Center for Online Learning
    The award recognizes an effective leader of programs and services that makes a difference for students, embraces change and innovation, seeks to improve existing processes, programs and services, demonstrates solid engagement on internal and external committees, and supports student success.
  • Faculty Innovation - Jeremiah Teipen, Professor/Coordinator, Computer Arts and Digital Art and Design
    The award honors a faculty member who demonstrates leadership in the development and implementation of a campus program that positively impacted students’ learning and resulted in improved student completion numbers within a course or a degree field.

One winner in each of the eleven awards categories will be announced at the AACC Awards of Excellence Gala on April 8 during the AACC Annual Convention to be held April 5-9 in Louisville, Kentucky.